Information published on 19 November 2014 in the UIC electronic newsletter "UIC eNews" Nr 424.

Scientific Committee of UIC High Speed World Congress met in Bilbao, 3 November 2014

  • High-Speed

The 7th Scientific Committee (Plenary) meeting for the UIC World Congress on High Speed Rail (WCHS 2015) was held in Bilbao on 3 November, opened by Mrs Ana Oregui, Minister for the Environment and Land Policy of the Basque Government, and held under the Chairmanship of Mr Michel Leboeuf.
The meeting focused on the main content of the programme, inspired by the past 50 years of high speed, in order to get ideas for high speed development over the next 50 years.

The scientific content of the congress will consist of five streams: Systems and Technology I and II, Management, Customers, and Culture & Society.
The call for papers was launched on 31 October and the documents are available on the website

The main conclusions of the committee were to:

  • Mobilise the number of abstracts for quality of selection
  • Contact universities and develop existing contacts to establish a group of professors to participate in the congress
  • Give names for both participants in the round table and for session chairman

The Organising Committee (UIC Headquarters end JR East) met in Bilbao and San Sebastian on the same days.

For the first time, the 9th UIC World Congress on High Speed will be a “paperless” congress, using IT technologies to enable more information flow and more interaction between all the participants.

In addition to the Organising and Scientific Committee for the World Congress on High Speed, the 4 November was dedicated to the UIC Intercity and High Speed Committee meeting, including a busy agenda with work to be developed during 2015.