Tuesday 12 December 2017

The Portuguese National Railway Museum is finalist in the European Museum Award for the year 2018

Share this article

The Portuguese National Railway Museum is included in the list of the 40 finalists for the European Museum Award of the Year 2018, the list was announced on 4 December by the European Museums Forum.

In the area of museology, the European Museum of the Year (EMYA) Award is the main and oldest prize awarded by the European Museums Forum and also the most prestigious in Europe.

Founded in 1977 under the auspices of the Council of Europe, the European Museum of the Year Award was created with the aim of recognising Excellence in Museums and encouraging innovative processes that help museums not to confine themselves to the traditional vision focused only on the collection, but that its activity effectively contributes to the benefit of society.

Being named for EMYA has great significance for the National Railway Museum which has once again recognised the public quality of its services and its innovative practices.

The winners of the various awards will be announced in May next year, in Warsaw.

(Portuguese National Railway Museum)

1 vote

Average rating: 2 / 5

© Museu Nacional Ferroviário